Smithfield
Smithfield, is an area on the northside of Dublin. Historically it was a farmers market but it has be rejuvenated and now its focal point Smithfield Plaza. Smithfield Market was laid out in the mid 17th century as a cobbled market place the restoration involved lifting more than 400,000 one hundred and twenty-year-old cobblestones, cleaning them by hand and re-laying them. The plaza now is a fresh and vibrant open space which is flanked by twelve 26 metre gas lighting masts, each with a 2 metre flame. A throw back to the original market a horse fair is still held every first Sunday the month. The Smithfield area is also home to the Dublin City Fruit Vegetable and Flower Market, and during the winter months it is used as ice rink.

One of Dublin’s tallest landmarks; The Chimney Viewing Tower has one of the best views of Dublin, being 185 ft tall. Built in 1895 it was originally, used to distil Ireland’s famous Jameson Whiskey, the chimney, with its 360°panoramic views, is now open to visitors. The glass enclosed viewing platform is accessed a glass lift.

Old Jameson Distillery is now a museum to the famous whiskey brand, and its whiskey is now brewed in Middleton in County Cork. Guided tours are available through the grain stores and distilling area. There is a bar and a complimentary tipple at the end of the tour.
Kings Inns on nearby Henrietta Street is the institution which controls the entry of barristers-at-law into the justice system of the Republic of Ireland. The society was created in 1541making it one of Ireland's oldest professional and educational institutions. It began life under the reign of King Henry VIII to home it gives its name.

Established as a theatre in 1928 by Hilton Edwards and Micheál MacLiammóir, the Gate offered Dublin audiences an introduction to the world of European and American avant-garde theatre as well as to the modern and classic Irish repertoire. Today the theatre continues to offer a stimulating and inclusive programme, appealing to theatregoers of all generations.

St Michan's Church of Ireland dates from 1685-86. When the Vikings were expelled from the walled city they built this church and it remained for almost five hundred years the only parish church on the north side of the Liffey. The church has a long and colourful history, with mummified bodies stored in the vaults and the church contains one of the oldest organs still in use in this country. It is said that Handel played on it while composing "The Messiah".

The rejuvenation of the Smithfield plaza means that there are plenty of young and exciting new restaurant pubs and clubs and state of the art Hotels to choose from.
Ballsbridge in Dublin
Blackrock in Dublin
Christ Church in Dublin
Clontarf in Dublin
Dalkey in Dublin
Dame Street in Dublin
Dublin Areas in Dublin
Dun Laoghaire in Dublin
Glasnevin in Dublin
Grafton Street Area in Dublin
Harcourt St. Area in Dublin
Howth in Dublin
Killiney in Dublin
Malahide in Dublin
Merrion Square in Dublin
O'Connell Street Area in Dublin
Rathfarnham in Dublin
Skerries in Dublin
Smithfield in Dublin
St. James's Street Area in Dublin
St. Stephens Green Area in Dublin
Temple Bar in Dublin
The Phoenix Park in Dublin
 
Dublin-Tour.com 
Clare-Tour.com
Cork-Tour.com
Galway-Tour.com

© Dublin-Tour.com 2007.